2015 Season Highlights

Madama Butterfly

Experience Puccini’s heartbreaking masterpiece of passion, honor, and sacrifice with Wolf Trap Opera and the National Symphony Orchestra in this new staged and costumed production with custom video projections.
  • Friday, Aug 07 | 8:15 PM
View Details
Verdi's Aida in Concert

Venture into Ancient Egypt with the majestic music of Verdi’s grand opera Aida, sung by Metropolitan Opera artists and Wolf Trap Opera alumni Michelle DeYoung, Marjorie Owens, Carl Tanner, and Scott Hendricks.
  • Friday, Jul 24 | 8:15 PM
View Details
The Ghosts of Versailles

To rewrite history and save Marie Antoinette from the guillotine, the famed playwright of The Marriage of Figaro and The Barber of Seville stages an opera for the ghost queen that can reverse her fate. Don’t miss this comic opera-within-an-opera in which the ghosts from the Court of Louis XVI tempt life, death, politics, love, and destiny.
  • Friday, Jul 10 | 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, Jul 12 | 3 PM
  • Wednesday, Jul 15 | 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, Jul 18 | 7:30 PM
View Details
The Marriage of Figaro

In one crazy day in the Almaviva household, Figaro and Susanna must devise and disguise their way to thwarting the Count’s plans of ruining their happiness. Originally banned for suggesting a servant could outwit his master, this political play turned beloved comic opera tells a moving tale of love, forgiveness—and an immensely chaotic wedding day—through sublime music and wry humor.
  • Friday, Jun 12 | 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, Jun 14 | 3 PM
  • Wednesday, Jun 17 | 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, Jun 20 | 7:30 PM
View Details
The Rodgers Family—A Century of Musicals

Three generations of American musical theatre in one family – from Richard Rodgers’ Oklahoma to Mary Rodgers’ Once Upon A Mattress and Adam Guettel’s A Light in the Piazza.
  • Saturday, Aug 01 | 3 PM
  • Sunday, Aug 02 | 3 PM
View Details

From the blog

Audition Rep: The Triage Game

As you might have deduced from my weeks-long silence (how does that happen?!?), we are finished with the audition tour and hip-deep in the process of repertoire selection and casting. Since I am now in the necessarily “silent phase” of my process, I offer the following post, drafted during our fall auditions but never published. Jack of all... Continue Reading