Winter Journey in Concert | Wolf Trap
Skip to Main Content
The Barns at Wolf Trap
Winter Journey

Winter Journey in ConcertMusical exploration of Jewish culture and identity in Nazi GermanyChamber Music at The Barns

Tix start at
Doors Open
6 PM

Event Details

In his remarkable book, The Inextinguishable Symphony, Martin Goldsmith tells the true story of his parents who were members of Berlin’s all-Jewish orchestra, and Nazi propaganda tool, the Jüdischer Kulturbund. The book inspired the making of a film, Winter Journey, which in turn inspired this concert. The program features works for winds and piano and includes composers whose voices were silenced as victims of the Holocaust, as well as works performed by the Jüdischer Kulturbund.
PROGRAM Tara Helen O’Connor, flute
James Austin Smith, oboe
Alan Kay, clarinet
Marc Goldberg, bassoon
David Byrd-Marrow, horn
Shai Wosner, piano

Leo Smit (1900–1943)
Sextet for Piano and Wind Quintet (1933)

Pavel Haas (1899–1944)
Suite for Oboe and Piano, Op. 17 (1939)

Erwin Schulhoff (1894–1942)
Divertissement for Oboe, Clarinet, and Bassoon (1927)

Gideon Klein (1919–1944)
Wiegenlied (Lullaby) (1943)

Thuille (1861–1907)
Sextet for Piano and Wind Quintet in B-flat major, Op. 6 (1888)



By purchasing a ticket to Wolf Trap, you agree to comply with all health and safety protocols that are in place at the time of the performance. Wolf Trap’s COVID-19 protocols are subject to change based on the CDC, Virginia, and National Park Service policies. Please check the policies and guidelines prior to your performance for the most up-to-date information.